Julia – Blog Post #1

I wrecked the Driver’s Ed car in 10th grade. It wasn’t a magnificent crash.  There was no fire. I didn’t fly off a cliff and plummet into a lake full of crocodiles and water spiders. But I did T-bone the car into an upperclassman’s Bronco. I remember the upperclassman being a short boy who opened his car door quickly, leaped out, and jumped up and down like a leprechaun who found gold. He was fine. He was just really mad. Understandably so. I got a C in Driver’s Ed.
My first day going car free was less dramatic. I just biked one mile to the bus stop got on my MATA’s Route 50 (put my bike on the bike rack). Rode downtown. Got off at the terminal (removed my bike from the bike rack). And biked 3 blocks to where I work. Later that day, I just reversed the order of the steps.
1511366_579650922131445_547353643_nAs easy as it has been the last couple of days, using the bus, and how nice it has been to add just a little bit of a bike ride to my work day, I’m embarrassed about how long I put off using the bus. I’m embarrassed about all the excuses I’ve made – the things I worried that prevented me from simply doing it.
I worried that it would take too much time. And it does take time. I work downtown and live in Germantown, so it takes me a little over an hour to get home by my combination of bike and bus. But with the construction on I-240, driving can take that long during rush hour and on the bus I can read.
I, also, worried that I would have to do a lot of “research” to figure out how to use the bus and how to put my bike on the bike rack. Luckily, I can take the 50 the whole way. So my research on routes took about 45 seconds on the MATA website. Using the bike rack took more hands on research, and the first time I put the bike on by myself must have been very humorous for the bus driver. He didn’t visibly laugh, though, and I may put him in my will for that small kindness.

 

